Our time is up!

Every journey comes to an end. The committee’s tenure-ship is no exception. Its been a year since we were elected and sadly its time to step down.

On Wednesday 24th August, we held our Annual General Meeting (AGM) where we presented to our members all the ‘behind the scenes’ plans that have been in operation and elected a new committee.

Our journey as a committee hasn’t been easy. We were the first committee since the society got reinstated at UCT. We started with little to no money or members or support, now that we have ticked all the boxes we are proud to say that we played our part. Thanks to our generous sponsors ,The Computer Science Department, Facebook, Amazon and Google , we were able to secure funds and equipment to run our events. We organised events that our members benefited from, these were Rails Bridge workshop, Interview preparation workshop, Anita Borg’s birthday, Career talks and the first ever student hackathon at UCT. Girls in the Computer Science Department now have a home and we hope retention will increase. We are proud of that and we hope the new committee will build on that.

We are leaving the society to the very capable hands of:

  • Onalerona Mosimege (ChairPerson), 
  • Sibulele Hlungwane (Vice ChairPerson),  
  • Wanga Mulaudzi (Secretary), 
  • Blessings Hadebe (Treasurer)  
  • and Tala Ross (Outreach).
  • Congratulations to Wanga,  our previous Secretary, for being re-elected to the committee.
WICS Committee 2016
New Committee above, Old committee below


 As of now, we will be running the society in the background until the new committee is ready to take over. We are excited to watch their progress!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: